Posted on

Mom’s Notes:Sneak Peek! Lenore’s Vintage Dolls with Impossible Embroidered Eyes

Made from a pattern found on Ebay.

Made from a pattern found on Ebay.

So a couple of years ago, I found this woman on Ebay who sells vintage doll patterns. OH MY! I love her collection. Had to purchase 5 patterns right at the beginning. This one has been moth-balled without limbs for at least a year. There was always something else to do, and then something else to buy. In the past couple of months though, I have really begun to get active with sewing and such. (See below for more cool links.)

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Bald doll made from vintage patterns on Ebay. These are not button jointed.

Bald doll made from vintage patterns on Ebay. These are not button jointed.

8 inch doll. Small Fry!

8 inch doll. Small Fry!

I wanted to make realistic eyes, and truthfully, I struggle with these. There is this old pattern that incorporates the arched black lash with the three fringed on the end. But the eyeball is to the side as if the doll is looking sideways. (It’s a vintage/creepy clown doll pattern). It looks cartoonish and just a bit off.

Then a year or so ago I found this blog who makes realistic looking doll eyes with embroidery. I found her blog here. Ok..her work is amazing, and those doll eyes are light years from mine. You should check out her doll, and other works too. She’s pretty talented.

Anyway, I tried using 3 colors instead of my initial 2, and it’s somewhat better. These are just starter dolls. I am going to resize the pattern so it will work well with 18 inch doll clothing patterns. Two of my absolute favorite doll clothing pattern sites are Liberty Jane and All Dolled Up. Of course, I can always use the clothing patterns that come with the original patterns too. That small doll came with 4 different clothing patterns.

Not sure where I’m going with these yet. Some will be gifts, and I may sell some others. Hope you enjoy the links.

Now I’m off to begin the Chirstmas festivities with the family.

Merry Christmas All! Lenore will be blogging later this week.

Leave a Reply

