Posted on

Lenore’s Entry: Hi again! I want to talk about when I was 6, and I stared playing guitar. This is a old video of me playing my electric blue guitar. This song is “People Are Strange”. It is by “The Doors”. When I was 6, I thought they were called “The DORVES”, and now I know their real name. This is my first song that I ever played on my guitar. It took me lots of weeks to learn it.

Now I am learning to play a song called “Little Boxes” by Malvina Reynolds. My favorite band, “Walk Off The Earth” plays a cover of this song. I like this song, and I will play it in about 3 weeks for my blog. In the meantime, I hope you like watching them and me when I was 6. Today I learned the “D” barre chord. I put my pointer finger on all of the strings except for the top one. Then I flatten out my ring finger and put pinky finger on the second string. It’s hard to talk about when you don’t see the guitar. I’ll show you how to do it soon. It feels hard on the wrist and hand. I got to shake it off a little. But anyways, it’s fun. Have a good day and night. Bye!

Mom’s Notes: As stated above, Lenore picked up her first guitar roughly a year ago. She has been practicing almost every day, and we encourage her to choose her own songs. We find there is more interest in “sticking with it” if she has some choices. This indeed is one of her absolute favorite bands. They are pretty fun, and I encourage you to check out more of their videos. She will be back on Friday with another post. Thanks for watching.

4 responses to “People Are Strange (The First Song I Learned To Play)

  1. Aunt Mary ⋅

    Lenore you brought back many memories with this song I learned in high school. I like “walk off the earth” version very much.

  2. Melissa ⋅

    Lenore, Thank you for the post. I really like the song and you did a good job. You and mom should record another video of you playing this song so that you can see for yourself how much you have improved.

    You really made my day with this post and I thank you for that. Please have mom give you a big HUG for me 😉

  3. LittleBanditHats ⋅

    Glad you liked it Mary. Thanks for checking out the other band.

  4. LittleBanditHats ⋅

    Thanks Melissa! She will record another version, but she wants to use barre chords. It could be a while.

Leave a Reply

